Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

If you read my blog for very long, you may soon find out that I am a bit of a Harry Potter fangirl (and by fan, I mean: THE BIGGEST HARRY POTTER FAN YOU WILL EVER MEET!).

Okay, I’m probably not the BIGGEST Harry Potter fan you’ll ever meet. I still have my priorities straight: God, family, friends, work. But I’m still a big fan! You’ll see some Harry Potter crafts posted to my blog in the next couple of weeks. I’ve got a special project coming up.

As such, I was, of course, ecstatic about the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. While not a sequel or prequel to the Harry Potter series, as Rowling herself explains, it was still a way back into this fictional world that I love.

Below is a review of the play that was released in print at the end of July.

[*SPOILER ALERT: DO NOT READ ANY FURTHER IF YOU DO NOT WANT THE BOOK SPOILED FOR YOU*]

Hopefully, at this point, anyone who does not want the book spoiled for them has left the page (to return at a later time) and those of you who have already read the book or are interested in knowing what happens are still with me.

First off, if you enjoyed the Harry Potter series, I would recommend reading this book. While it is much different than the series we all adored, it was still an interesting concept and fun to get to know some of the new characters.

What I Liked

Here are a few things about the book that I really enjoyed:

  • A way back into the world of witches and wizards, Hogwarts, and the Ministry of Magic.
  • Seeing where Harry, Ron, and Hermione are now.
  • Delving into the concept of Time Turners. That’s definitely an interesting concept. And if you ever saw: How It Should Have Ended, you might be with me in thinking that was a bit humorous that that was the path this book took, at least the basic concept of using a time turner to undo the past.
  • Albus Potter and Scorpius Malfoy as friends! I loved this. With Harry and Draco’s whole history, I find it so refreshing to discover that their sons are best friends.
  • Albus being put into Slytherin. I like and dislike this. I’ll talk about why I dislike this below. The reason I like this is that Harry doesn’t have it easy with his kids. It would be kind of boring if they all just ended up in Gryffindor. There’s a little bit of a dramatic family dynamic here.
  • Scorpius Malfoy. This was my favorite character in this book. He was so funny–something you wouldn’t expect of a Malfoy. Not only is he funny, but he’s good. While Draco got pushed into the wrong crowd and bad situations, there’s no denying that Draco was a jerk, from the very beginning. Knowing everything you do about the Malfoy family by the end of the Harry Potter series, it’s not really surprising that he turned out like that. However, by the end of the series, you can tell that Draco just wants out. He doesn’t want to be a Death Eater. He doesn’t want to be involved with the people his family has always associated. He just wants some peace. Scorpius seems like a bit of that peace and relief, if you ask me.

What I Didn’t Like

Below are a few things about the book that I didn’t particularly like. This in no way makes me regret reading this book or would have me discourage anyone else from reading it; these are just a few things I took note of that I wasn’t particularly fond of.

  • Ron’s character was so off. How did Ron become such a goof? He didn’t seem like himself at all. He came off as Hermione’s goof of a husband. He didn’t play much of a role in the story either. Ron seemed to show up at the last minute and he didn’t really know what was going on.
  • All of the old characters seemed a bit off. Ron was the one I had the most trouble with when reading this book, but the other characters I grew up reading and loved didn’t really seem like themselves either.
  • The format of the book. Going into this book, you have to know it’s going to be different. It was a play, first, so it is written like a play here. I miss the narrative you got with the previous books.
  • Voldemort having a kid. I don’t believe it. For this to have worked, there needed to be more explanation. The character written in Books 1-7 would not care about sustaining his line. While that was a huge priority for many of Voldemort’s followers–maintaining a pure line of witches and wizards–Voldemort didn’t care about that. Yes, he hated Muggles and Half-Bloods (although, seriously, he was a half blood, too, so someone was being a bit hypocritical there!), but he really only cared about himself; how he could keep himself alive.

What I’d Like to See Next

If you haven’t heard, Rowling is going to release 3 Harry Potter short stories in just a few weeks! I’m really looking forward to reading those.

Beyond that, if Rowling were to write anymore books (I know she said she was done with the Harry Potter world a long time ago, but obviously that’s not the case so lets just embrace it!), I’d love to see some on:

  • Hogwarts’ Founding and Its Four Founders
  • Severus Snape’s Life Story
  • Witches and Wizards: Where It All Began

What about you? If you were able to read anything more related to the Harry Potter world, what would it be? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

